Bookmark :

UP B lays down marker USSA Golf Champs

04 Jul 2017

University of Pretoria B; credit Kevin Wylie

Gregg Gilson, Adriaan Hamman and Brandon Lane catapulted the University of Pretoria B-team to victory in the 36-hole stroke play seeding qualifier at the University Sport South Africa (USSA) Golf Championship on Tuesday.

The trio combined for a final round four-over-par 220 at Centurion Country Club to edge out first round leaders Varsity College A for the prime spot in the log.

Gilson opened with an even-par 72 to anchor the team on day one and once again led the way with a 71. Hamman posted a 72, Plint carded a 77 and Brandon Lane returned a non-counting 81.

The B-team closed out a five shot victory over Varsity College A on a winning total of 446.

Varsity College student Jason Broomhead fired the lowest round on the day, a four under 68, to win the Individual Competition title.

His contribution was supplemented by an 81 from Patric Broughill-Dowling and Devon Murray’s 77 help the A-team to keep last year’s winners at bay.

Defending champions Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University finished six off the pace and North West University A – the runners-up in 2015 – took fourth on 457

With the format switching to match play, the University of Pretoria B will start their bid for an 11th title in the prestigious annual student championship against North West University B.

Varsity College A face the University of Stellenbosch, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A take on the A-team from the University of Pretoria, who finished fifth overall on 458.

North West University A will challenge the University of Johannesburg A.

Meanwhile Janco Walles, Francois Marx, Keanan Aysen and Hanre Vogel helped Central University of Technology Free State A to successive rounds of 245 and the top spot in the B-Section log with an overall ninth place finish on 490.

The quartet will face off against the University of Zululand in round one.

Newcomers Rhodes University A placed a further four strokes back, which earned them a first round battle with the University of Johannesburg B. Varsity College B face the University of Witwatersrand A and Stellenbosch University B goes up against Rhodes University B.

Final Team Standings
446 University of Pretoria B (UP B) 226 220
451 Varsity College A (VCOL A) 225 226
452 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A (NMMU A) 229 223
457 North West University A (NWU A) 227 230
458 University of Pretoria A (UP A) 229 229
466 University of Johannesburg A (UJ A) 239 227
468 University of Stellenbosch A (US A) 231 237
481 North West University B (NWU B) 238 243
490 Central University of Technology Free State A (CUT A) 245 245
494 Rhodes University A (RU A) 239 255
499 University of Stellenbosch B (US B) 249 250
502 Varsity College B (VCOL B) 243 259
512 University of the Witwatersrand A (WITS A) 252 260
521 Rhodes University B (RU B) 261 260
527 University of Johannesburg B (UJ B) 262 265
573 University of Zululand A (UZUL A) 298 275
605 Tshwane University of Technology (TUT A) 315 290

Individual Competition Result (top 20)
142 Jason Broomhead (VCOL A) 74 68
143 Gregg Gilson (UP B) 72 71
149 Altin van der Merwe (NMMU A) 75 74; Kyle De Beer (NMMU A) 77 72
150 Philip Swanepoel (US A) 72 78; Calvin Ferreira (UP A) 73 77; Wian de Wet (UJ A) 77 73
151 SJ Allen (NWU A) 78 73; Adriaan Hamman (UP B) 79 72
152 SJ Boshoff (NWU A) 74 78
154 Jacques Smith (NMMU A) 77 77; Patric Broughill-Dowling (VCOL A) 73 81; Eben-Paul Zietsman (NWU A) 75 79
155 Devon Murray (VCOL A) 78 77; Ian Jacobs (UP A) 79 76; Charl de Vries (UJ A) 81 74
156 David Nortje (UP A) 77 79; Brandon Lane (UP B) 75 81; Andrew Plint (UP B) 79 77
157 R Reid (NWU B) 78 79

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the USSA Championship and GolfRSA a SAGA and WGSA Not-For-Profit company.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by