Bookmark :

Saamtrek takes charge at Ernie’s event

03 Aug 2017

Franco Gericke (Laerskool George Suid), Zamokuhle Nxasana (St Dunstan’s College), Ruan de Villiers (Laerskool Goedehoop) and Leonard Bevan (Laerskool Buhrmannsdrif); credit GolfRSA.

Laerskool Saamtrek trio Divan Mostert, Heinrich Janse van Vuuren and Zander Nel combined for a total of 237 to open up a seven shot lead in the first round of the Ernie Els SA Primary Schools Championship at Randpark Golf Club on Thursday.

Janse van Vuuren and Nel both returned rounds of 83, while Mostert blitzed the Bushwillow Course in one-under-par 71 to boost the team to the top of the pile.

The North West team has a comfortable cushion, but the format of this premier team event has served up some unexpected final round surprises in the last six editions.

With four players to a team and just three scores to count, Laerskool Saamtrek will have to keep tabs on the chasing pack if they aim to finish in the winner’s circle on Friday.

Laerskool George Suid and Laerskool Wierdapark are joint second on 244, with Clifton a further two strokes adrift in fourth.

Franco Gericke led Laerskool George Suid with a 75, while Michael Nortje and Jacques Vermaak added respective rounds of 82 and 87. Raymond van Niekerk and Jean-Pierre Jordaan produced a pair of 79s and Reinhardt Uys returned an 86 for Laerskool Wierdapark.

Mostert, who reeled in a trio of birdies from the 15th to the 17th for his 71, tops the Individual Leaderboard. He leads by four from Gericke and is five shots clear of Carstens from Clifton.

Team Results
237 Laerskool Saamstrek (Divan Mostert 71 Heinrich Janse van Vuuren 83 Zander Nel 83)
244 Laerskool George Suid (Franco Gericke 75 Michael Nortje 82 Jacques Vermaak 87)
244 Laerskool Wierdapark (Raymond van Niekerk 79 Jean-Pierre Jordaan 79 Reinhardt Uys 86)
249 Clifton (Jake Carstens 76 James Jarvis 84 Ross Montgomery 89)
257 Laerskool Goedehoop (Ruan de Villiers 80 Kobus van Heerden 86 Diederik van der Walt 91)
259 Laerskool de Villiers Graaf (Eric Venter 79 Conrad Loubser 84 Lizzy Thomson 96)
264 St Dunstan’s College (Zamokuhle Nxasana 82 Mathew Smit 88 Justin Smith 94)
264 Westville Snr Primary (Keagan Horner 82 Andrew Woodley 84 Callum Lingley 98)
264 Kruinsig (Marno Lange 86 Corne Jansen 88 Ian van Rhyn 90)
274 Curro Aurora (Kael Strydom 79 Arnoux van der Merwe 92 Tyran Nadar 103)
278 Laerskool Constantiapark (Christan le Roux 89 Jeandré de Bruyn 91 Evert Greyling 98)
280 Laerskool Buhrmannsdrif (Leonard Bevan 79 Hanno JV Rensburg 93 Bernelee Rousseau 108)
287 St Stithians (Giorgio Amory 94 Peter Watt 94 Luke Dakers 99)
358 Laerskool Balfour (Bea Breedt 112 Blake Commins 123 Henru Diedericks 123)

Individual Result (top 20)
71 Divan Mostert
75 Franco Gericke
76 Jake Carstens
79 Raymond van Niekerk; Leonard Bevan; Kael Strydom; Jean-Pierre Jordaan; Eric Venter
80 Ruan de Villiers
82 Zamokuhle Nxasana; Michael Nortje; Keagan Horner
83 Heinrich Janse van Vuuren; Zander Nel
84 James Jarvis; Andrew Woodley; Conrad Loubser
86 Reinhardt Uys; Marno Lange; Kobus van Heerden; Vian Jansen van Vuuren

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA, a SAGA and WGSA Not-For-Profit company.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by