Bookmark :

Record number of amateurs in 2016 BMW SA Open

06 Jan 2016

Reigning Sanlam SA Amateur champion Daniel Young; credit Catherine Kotze / SASPA

Reigning Sanlam SA Amateur champion Daniel Young will lead a record number of nine amateurs in the 2016 BMW SA Open, proudly hosted by Ekurhuleni, at Glendower Golf Club on Thursday. 

The Scotsman Scot will make his debut in the world's second oldest national Open alongside defending champion Andy Sullivan and former champion Hennie Otto. The three-ball will start at 12h10 from the first tee. 

South Africa's number one ranked Tristen Strydom will have qualifiers Albert Venter and David Meyers for company at 13h30 on the first tee, while reigning Nomads SA Boys U-17 champion Herman Loubser joins fellow qualifier Louis Calitz and Stuart Manley from Wales on the 10th tee at 11h30. 

Number two ranked Teaghan Gauche, off at 06h30 from 10, will play with Ireland's Paul Dunne and Nino Bertasio from Italy, while KeNako Academy stablemates Andre Nel and Jade Buitendag is off at 08h20 and 11h30 respectively.

Nel will start at the 10th with Jack Kutumane and England's Chris Hanson, while Buitendag, former SA number one ranked amateur and Sunshine Tour Qualifying School champion Christiaan Bezuidenhout and Francesco Laporta from Italy tees off the first.

Southern Cape's Cameron Moralee closes out the amateur line-up alongside Darryn Lloyd and Denmark's Lasse Jensen from the 10th tee at 13h30.


Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by