Bookmark :

Modderfontein under pressure in Louis’ Champs

28 Sep 2015

Louis 57 Golf Academy’s Martin Vorster posted the lowest first round in the Louis Oosthuizen SA Junior Club Teams Championship; credit SAGA.

The quartet from Modderfontein Golf Club combined for a solid start in their title defence in the fourth Louis Oosthuizen SA Junior Club Teams Championship on Monday, but the two-time winners don’t have sole propriety on the first round lead at Langebaan Golf and Sport Club.

Dylan Naidoo and Marco Steyn carded a pair of 75s, while Eric Wowor and Guy Waterhouse both signed for 78s to give Modderfontein an opening total of 12-over-par 228.

However, Alistair Snowdon also posted 75, Abduragmaan Adams registered a 76 and Craig Baba returned a 77 to help Rondebosch into a share of pole position.

The leaders will carry a slender lead over the Louis 57 Golf Academy into this afternoon’s second round, after Martin Vorster led the way with a lowest round score of 74 and Marcus Smal and Christo Lamprecht added respective rounds of 78 and 80 for 232.

Dainfern Country Club slipped into fourth on 237 alongside debutants Theewaterskloof Golf Club.

Dean Martin led the way for Dainfern with a 76, while Miles Taylor carded a 77 and Cameron Walker returned an 84.

Willem Boshoff (78) partnered Tyron Davidowitz (79) and Dandre Spies (80) for Theewaterskloof.

TEAM ROUND 1 (Best 3 scores of 4 to count)
228 Rondebosch Golf Club Alistair Snowdon 75 Abduragmaan Adams 76 Craig Baba 77
228 Modderfontein Golf Club Dylan Naidoo 75 Marco Steyn 75 Eric Wowor 78

232 Louis 57 Golf Academy Martin Vorster 74 Marcus Smal 78 Christo Lamprecht 80
237 Dainfern Country Club Dean Martin 76 Miles Taylor 77 Cameron Walker 84|
237 Theewaterskloof Golf Club Willem Boshoff 78 Tyron Davidowitz 79 Dandre Spies 80
240 Reading Country Club David Ross 76 Kyle Klopper 81 Tian Swart 83
240 Benoni Lake Club Chase Paton 77 Dane Rutherford 81 Kyle Opperman 82
240 Paarl Golf Club Heinrich Gregorowski 80 Tyran Snyders 80 Luca Schwarte 80
241 Durbanville Golf Club Christiaan Steenkamp 79 Ian Botha 80 Ayden Senger 82
242 Umhlali Country Club Thabiso Magwaza 79 Connor Stoyell 81 Matthew Mason 82
243 Durban Country Club Nikhil Gopal 79 Jonothan Broomhead 81 Lisanthan Moodley 83
245 Middelburg Golf Club Hanro Kilian 78 Banele Mavuso 81 Reghard Viljoen 86
247 Lydenburg Golf Club Jacques Brits 80 Tiaan Brits 82 Henco Erasmus 85
255 CMR Fritz Orren 79 Raylyn Anthony 88 Nkosenye Carl Mwale 88

74 Martin Vorster
75 Alistair Snowdon; Dylan Naidoo; Marco Steyn
76 Dean Martin; David Ross; Abduragmaan Adams
77 Miles Taylor; Chase Paton; Craig Baba
78 Marcus Smal; Eric Wowor; Guy Waterhouse; Hanro Kilian; Willem Boshoff
79 Fritz Orren; Thabiso Magwaza; Nikhil Gopal; Christiaan Steenkamp; Tyron Davidowitz
80 Christo Lamprecht; Dandre Spies; Heinrich Gregorowski; Jacques Brits; Ian Botha; Tyran Snyders; Luca Schwarte
81 Connor Stoyell; Hilmi Mallick; Banele Mavuso; Dane Rutherford; Jonothan Broomhead; Kyle Klopper
82 Matthew Mason; Kyle Opperman; Ayden Senger; Bryce Webel; Tiaan Brits
83 Lisanthan Moodley; Tian Swart; Tristan Egly
84 Keegan van Jaarsveld; Jamie Josephs; Cameron Walker
85 Henco Erasmus
86 Reghard Viljoen; Tristan Webel
87 Ethan Smith; Samual Mckenzie
88 Raylyn Anthony; Schalk Grobler; Nkosenye Carl Mwale; Marcus Taylor
90 Jared Miller; Alessio Graziani; Cameron Duncan
95 A.J. Meyer; Jordan Duminy; Kayle Wykes
96 Tristan Hamilton

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the South African Golf Association.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by