Bookmark :

Mellette and Lawrence produce at the INDWE SA Senior Amateur

27 Oct 2012

Mellette Hendrikse with Barry Crouse - left(captain Wingate Park) & Lynn van As(Indwe)

The final round of the INDWE SA Senior Amateur Strokeplay Championship ended yesterday at Wingate Park Country Club. After two days of overcast and, at times somewhat windy conditions, the clouds lifted for the sun to finally shine on the nearly 270 players that participated in this prestigious event.

Both courses, Wingate Park Country Club and Woodhill Country Club, were presented in immaculate condition with the players expressing high praise for the efforts of the respective course superintendents.

On day one at Wingate Park CC, Julian Visser (Bellville) and the reigning SA Senior champion, Lawrence Franklin (Houghton) led on 2 under par 70 with Mellette Hendrikse (Akasia) and Rinus van Niekerk (Wingate Park) breathing down their necks on 71. The second day at Woodhill saw Jock Wellington (Kyalami) bounce back with a well compiled 70 after an indifferent 1st round of 77. Mellette increased his lead to 3 shots over Lawrence after his 70 with Lawrence recording a 74. Other notable scores at Woodhill on day two was the 71 by Gavin Light (Witbank) and the 72’s by Francois Le Roux (De Zalze) and Norman Phillips (East London).

The final day at Wingate Park CC saw a ding-dong affair between Mellette Hendrikse and Lawrence Franklin. The 529 metre par 5 13th at Wingate Park CC was the tournament deciding hole with Mellette recording a birdie and Lawrence an unfortunate 7 – a 3 shot swing. In the end Mellette Hendrikse (71,70 & 74) was crowned SA Senior Champion for 2012 with Lawrence (70,74 & 75) fighting bravely to defend the title that he won in Cape Town last year.

The ageless Jock Wellington (77,70 & 74) finished in 3rd place with Morgan Phillips (77,74 & 71) and Rinus van Niekerk (71,77 & 74) in joint 4th position.

The B division, who played individual stableford, was won by Alexander CC’s Barry Heathcote (113) with Firmino de Abreu (Kempton Park) 2nd and Edward van Aswegen (Reading) 3rd.

The Plate event held on the final day at Woodhill, for players missing the cut in both divisions after 36 holes, was won by Lucas Lebeko (Rusterburg) on an excellent score of 76 with Ronald Langa (Riverside) winning the B division on an equally impressive 40 individual stableford points.

With the growth of senior golf in South Africa, next year’s event at Fancourt (Montagu & Outeniqua courses) promises to be a very popular choice.

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by