Bookmark :

SA win All Africa Junior Golf Challenge

08 Apr 2011

The four man South African Junior team dominated the 2011 All Africa Junior Golf Challenge from start to finish winning both the team and individual titles comfortably from the nine other African nations competing.

The 72 hole stroke tournament, for players under nineteen years of age, was played at Windhoek Golf and Country Club and concluded on Wednesday.

In the final round, the South Africans extended their lead at the top of the team leader board by a further eight shots, recording a one over par 214. The best three scores counting were recorded by Haydn Porteous (67), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (72) and Martin Rohwer (75). Armandt Scholtz, the fourth player in the team, also recorded a four over par 75.

South Africa finished on a five under par 72 hole team aggregate of 847, sixteen shots clear of their nearest rival, Namiba.

Sixteen year old Haydn Porteous was dominant in the individual competition from the get go. His four under par final round gave him a fourteen under par 72 hole total of 270, eleven shots clear of team mate Christiaan Bezuidenhout.

“I had a bogey on the third hole but recovered nicely recording five birdies in six consecutive holes starting at the sixth hole,” said Porteous after his round. “I really putted well,” the talented young player described as the foundation on which he built his fine performance this week. “I recorded a total of 25 putts in each of the first two rounds and 26 in each of the final two.”

As a result of the win in the team competition, South Africa qualify to send a team of four juniors to the Toyota Junior World Cup later this year.

2011 All Africa Junior Golf Challenge

Windhoek Golf and Country Club

(par 71: Team: par 213: 72 holes - 852)

Final Results: Leaders

847 – South Africa (209,212,212,214)

863 – Namibia (212,215,214,222)

897 – Zimbabwe (225,230,221,221)

954 – Kenya (243,237,232,242)


Individual Competition

(par 71: 72 holes – 284)

Final Results: Leaders

270 – Haydn Porteous (RSA) (67,69,67,67)

281 – Christiaan Bezuidenhout (RSA) (70,71,68,72)

284 – Glen de Waal (NAM) (71,70,70,73)

285 – Roux Jeffery (NAM) (69,70,72,74)

296 – Martin Rohwer (RSA) (72,72,77,75)

298 – Ruan Huysamen (NAM) (72,76,72,78)

299 – Clive Nguru (ZIM) (76,73,77,73)

302 – Raynard Badenhorst (ZIM) (76,79,73,74)

303 – Armandt Scholtz (RSA) (77,72,79,75)

304 – Brett Krog (ZIM) (73,78,74,79)

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by