Bookmark :

SA Lead and Porteous Shines

03 Apr 2011

Porteous, seen here with the Dr Bam Tropny he won last weekend

South Africa lead by three shots after the opening round of the All Africa Junior Golf Challenge, a 72 hole stroke play amateur team golf tournament being played at the Windhoek Golf and Country Club.

With the best three scores in each round counting, South Africa recorded a four under par first round score of 209, made up of rounds from Haydn Porteous (67), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (70) and Martin Rohwer (72).

Porteus’s round was the best individual score of the day.

Fourth player in the South African Team, Armandt Scholtz, finished with a six over 77.

It was clear, at the end of the round, that the pretournament favourites and current leaders will not be having things all their own way. Hosts Namibia finished one under par, 212, made up of scores recorded by Roux Jeffery (69), Glen de Waal (71) and Ruan Huysamen (72).

Zimbabwe are lying in third place some sixteen shots off the pace.

“The playing conditions are quite tough due to wetness of the course,” said Gerhard Conradie, the South African Junior team manager after conclusion of the round. “There was a suspension in play due to a thunderstorm this afternoon.”

Leading the individual competition is Haydn Porteous. Speaking after his round he said that his putting worked well for him in the first round. “I could not miss anything under two metres,” the sixteen year old Modderfontein Golf Club member explained enthusiastically.

His four under par 67 was made up of an eagle, on par 5 seventh hole, four birdies and two bogeys. “I hit my four iron stiff, less than a metre from the flag,” said Porteus of his eagle.

The second round commences on Monday. It is a seeded draw based on first round scores. The final round will be played on Wednesday.

2011 All Africa Junior Golf Challenge

Windhoek Golf and Country Club (par 71: 3 scores par 213)

First Round leaders

209 – South Africa

212 – Namibia

225 – Zimbabwe

243 – Kenya

252 -  Zambia

Individual Competition

First Round Leaders

67 – Haydn Porteous (RSA)

69 – Roux Jeffery (NAM)

70 – Christiaan Bezuidenhout (RSA)

71 – Glen de Waal (NAM)

72 – Martin Rohwer (RSA), Ruan Huysamen (NAM)

73 – Brett Krog (ZIM)

75 – Brendan Britten (NAM)

76 – Raynard Badenhorst (ZIM), Clive Nguru (ZIM)

77 – Armandt Scholtz (RSA), Benjamin Follet-Smith (ZIM

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by