Bookmark :

Preview Nomads SA Under 13 Championship

07 Sep 2012

This year sees the 7th edition of the NOMADS SA U13 Championship (previously called SA U12 Teams Championship) being held at the Nelspruit Golf Club from the 30th September through to the 3rd October.

Nelspruit Golf Club was founded in November 1928 and moved to its present location in 1939. This bushveld course is a Bob Grimsdell design, built among rocky outcrops of land in the suburbs of Nelspruit. It was a 9-holer for nearly 30 years before Bob Grimsdell returned to complete a second 9 in 1967/68.


The SA U13 Championship has its origins in 2006, at Clovelly Country Club, primarily as a team event with the first event attracting 55 players and 9 teams. It has grown to the extent where 94 players played in 2010. In 2009 and 2010 a record 15 teams battled it out for the team trophy. Western Province won the team event for the 1st three years, 2006/2007/2008, with Central Gauteng dominating the next three years, 2009/2010/2011.


This tournament has been instrumental in allowing many of the current leading players to have their first real taste of high quality opposition. The current three leading players on the SAGA Junior Golf U19 order of merit, Thriston Lawrence (runner up in 2009), Tristen Strydom (winner 2009) and James Hart du Preez (winner 2008), all having made their mark at this event. In 2007 Zander Lombard won at Maccauvlei Golf Club, then as a 12 year old recording a 2 under par score for the 45 holes played.

The 2012 tournament will again see all the leading South Africans, boys and girls 12 years and younger, battle it out over 54 holes of stroke play.


Past results:

2006 Clovelly (45 holes)                 Western Province            984                         Shayne Allan (Central Gauteng)              193

2007 Maccauvlei (45 holes)          Western Province              1027                       Zander Lombard (Gauteng North)            178

2008 Clovelly (45 holes)                 Western Province            1017                       James du Preez (Gauteng North)             188

2009 Clovelly (54 holes)                 Central Gauteng              1192                       Tristen Strydom (Gauteng North)             223

2010 Clovelly (54 holes)                 Central Gauteng              1158                       Steven Raath (Western Province)            228

2011 Kingswood (54 holes)          Central Gauteng                1184                       Luca Filippi (Western Province)                221


Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by