Bookmark :

Hoerskool Waterkloof wins Retief Goosen High Schools

24 Sep 2012

Hoerskool Waterkloof Team with Theo Goosen

The Retief Goosen National High Schools Championship, sponsored by IMG, ended today at Country Club Johannesburg Rocklands Course. The players were presented with ideal golfing conditions during the tournament and a course that was in magnificent condition.

A total of 24 high schools participated with each union being entitled to enter 2 teams after regional qualification events were held.

Although Retief Goosen was unable to attend, an inspirational message from Retief was played to all the participants at the opening dinner on Saturday evening. The prizes were presented by Theo Goosen, Retief’s father. 

After the first day 7 shots separated the top 3 schools, namely Waterkloof, Glenwood House and Dainfern College. In the end Waterkloof triumphed by a comfortable 8 shots. A titanic struggled ensued between Southern Cape’s Glenwood House and Dainfern College. In the end a single shot separated the two teams with Central Gauteng’s Dainfern College being crowned runner-up. 

Paarl Gymnasium from the Boland finished 4th with last year’s winners, Tuks Sport High School, ending 5th. Tuks struggled on day one, lying in joint 11th position but fought back admirably on the final day.

Some outstanding golf was played with Waterkloof’s Christiaan Bezuidenhout winning individual honors on a 5 under par total of 139, 69 & 70. Xander Basson (HTS Middelburg) was the only other player to finish under par, after a pair of 71’s. Angus Ellis-Cole (St Stithians Boys College) returned level par 144, after a 73 and a 71 today.

With IMG pledging their full support going forward, this national high schools event promises to have a bright future.


  1. HoÑ‘rskool Waterkloof      437
  2. Dainfern College              445
  3. Glenwood House             446
  4. Paarl Gymnasium             448
  5. Tuks Sports                      458


  1. Christiaan Bezuidenhout (HoÑ‘rskool Waterkloof)             69           70           139
  2. Xander Basson (HTS Middelburg)                                      71           71           142
  3. Angus Ellis-Cole (St Stithians College)                              73           71           144
  4. Dean Martin (Dainfern College)                                         73           73           146
  5. Gideon van der Vyver (Paarl Gymnasium)                         78           69           147

Introducing GolfRSA

The new Golf RSA is now live. You can visit for all the latest news and information on amateur golf in South Africa.


Upcoming Events

Featured Links

Supplied by